Memberships & Affiliations

  • Massachusetts Court-Approved Mediation Program: Superior Court Department, Probate & Family Court Department, Land Court Department, Housing Court, Juvenile Court
  • Massachusetts Office of Public Collaboration Housing Appeals Court Mediation Program Roster
  • U.S. Institute for Environmental Conflict Resolution National Roster of Environmental Dispute Resolution and Consensus Building Professionals
  • Boston Facilitators Roundtable
  • Association for Conflict Resolution
  • Association of Family and Conciliation Courts
  • Massachusetts Council on Family Mediation 
  • Divorce Net
  • Massachusetts Nonprofit Network


best law firm.jpeg

The Mediation Group received U.S. News - Best Lawyers' "Best Law Firms" in Boston, Massachusetts First-Tier Rankings for Mediation and Arbitration in 2017.  TMG previously held the First-Tier Ranking recognition in Mediation during the years of 2016, 2015, 2014, 2013, 2012, 2011 and 2010.  U.S. News and Best Lawyers joined to rank more than 11,000 firms in the U.S. and their rankings are based on a rigorous evaluation process that includes the collection of client and lawyer evaluations, peer review from leading attorneys in their field, and review of additional information provided by law firms as part of the formal submission process.

In 2014, Brad Honoroff was voted into the Massachusetts Chapter of the National Academy of Distinguished Neutrals. NADN is “an association whose membership consists of ADR professionals distinguished by their hands-on experience in the field of civil and commercial conflict resolution, and by their commitment to the practice of alternative dispute resolution. Membership is by invitation only and limited to attorney mediators and arbitrators who have proven experience in the field. All Academy members have been thoroughly reviewed and found to meet stringent practice criteria. Members are amongst the most in-demand neutrals in their respective states, as selected by both peers and local litigation firms.”

Three of TMG’s neutrals have consistently appeared on the list of the Best Lawyers in America©: Brad Honoroff (Mediation), Joel Reck (Mediation and Real Estate), and Jeff Stern (Mediation and Arbitration).

Brad Honoroff was identified as a 2018 Best Lawyers for his work in the field of Mediation.

Joel Reck was identified as a 2018 Best Lawyers for his work in the fields of Mediation and Real Estate Law.

Jeff Stern was listed in the 2018 Best Lawyers for his contributions in the fields of Mediation and Arbitration.  He was also awarded the accolade of Best Lawyers® 2018 “Lawyer of the Year” for Mediation in Boston.  This honor is given to only a single lawyer for each category of a particular metropolitan area.

In 2017, Brad Honoroff was recognized by Best Lawyers® as the Mediation "Lawyer of the Year" in Boston.

In 2016, Jeff Stern was named the Best Lawyers® "Lawyer of the Year" in the area of arbitration for the community of Boston.  Also, he was selected by his peers to appear in the Best Lawyers in America© 2016 list in the areas of mediation and arbitration. 

In 2014, Brad Honoroff, achieved an added designation, having been named the Best Lawyers’ 2014 Boston Mediation ‘Lawyer of the Year.’ According to Best Lawyers: “Only a single lawyer in each practice area and designated metropolitan area is honored as the ‘Lawyer of the Year,’ making this accolade particularly significant. Lawyers being honored as ‘Lawyer of the Year” are selected based on particularly impressive voting averages received during the exhaustive peer-review assessments we conduct with thousands of leading lawyers each year. Receiving this designation reflects the high level of respect a lawyer has earned among other leading lawyers in the same communities and the same practice areas for their abilities, their professionalism, and their integrity.”

In July 2014, the American College of Civil Trial Mediators gave David Hoffman its Lifetime Achievement Award.

In 2014, the Field Education Department at the Boston University School of Social Work selected Jane Honoroff  as the recipient of an Excellence in Field Instruction award. Jane is being recognized for going ‘above and beyond’ in her work with students and for the “significant impact [she has] had on [her] student’s professional growth as a developing social worker.”

In 2014, Isaac Borenstein received the Thomas J. McMahon Award, “given to a faculty or staff member who demonstrated unparalleled dedication to the student body of Suffolk Law.”

Brad Honoroff and David Hoffman have also been named as Massachusetts Superlawyers  (Brad 2005-2012 and David 2004-2013).

In 2013, Joel Reck received the Richard B. Johnson award, the highest honor of the Massachusetts Real Estate Bar Association (REBA). This award recognizes the impressive achievements of Joel’s career first as a real estate lawyer and more recently as a mediator and arbitrator, both at TMG and at REBA. Presenting this award to Joel on behalf of REBA was Rudolph Kass, who was himself a recipient of the Richard B. Johnson award, in 2002, (by what was then called the Massachusetts Conveyancers’ Association), in recognition of his “significant lifelong contributions to the Massachusetts conveyancing bar.”

In 2012, Joel Reck was appointed by Governor Deval Patrick to the Massachusetts Foreclosure Impacts Task Force.

Jeff Stern was identified as a Distinguished Fellow in 2012 by the American College of Civil Trial Mediators (ACCTM), after serving for two years on the College's Board of Directors.

Isaac Borenstein received the Cornelius J. Moynihan Award for Excellence in Teaching in May of both 2007 and 2012.)

Through 2011, the Boston Business Journal provided an annual ranking of the area’s largest ADR firms. The Mediation Group consistently featured in the top 15, most recently in the top 10 (specifically #7 in 2009, #8 in 2010 and #6 in 2011).

The Ford Hall Forum awarded Rudolph Kass its George W. Coleman Service Award in 2009, in recognition of his “extraordinary contributions to the Forum, to free speech and to the Greater Boston Community.” Also in 2009, he was honored for his “continuing commitment to ADR and the ADR community” at MCLE’s first annual ADR & the Law conference.

In 2008, the Hispanic National Bar Association and the Massachusetts Association of Hispanic Attorneys awarded their Lifetime Achievement Award to Isaac Borenstein.

The Community Dispute Settlement Center has awarded all three of TMG’s principals with their annual Community Peacemakers Award: Brad Honoroff and Jane Honoroff in 2006, and David Matz in 2008.

Joel Reck was listed as one of the “Nation’s Top 10 Real Estate Lawyers” in 2006 published by the United States Lawyer Rankings guide, and was also named as a leading individual in real estate law in Massachusetts by Chambers USA: America’s Leading Lawyers for Business. 

In 2006, the Jewish Alliance for Law and Social Action: honored Rudolph Kass “ in recognition of his commitment to social justice.”

In 2005, the New England Chapter of the Association for Conflict Resolution bestowed its Pioneer Award on David Matz, as someone “who has been active in the ADR field since its early years, has made significant contributions to the conflict resolution community, and has demonstrated a commitment to the growth and development of the profession.”

In 2003, Isaac Borenstein received a Leadership Award from the National Center for State Courts in Williamsburg, VA for his work as Chair of the Massachusetts Trial Court Committee on Interpreter Services.

Isaac Borenstein received the highly regarded Haskell Cohn Award for Distinguished Judicial Service from the Boston Bar Association in 2001.

In 2001, the Massachusetts Department of Public Health formally recognized The Mediation Group’s “valuable contribution to the development of the Health Insurance Consumer Protection Regulations for the Office of Patient Protection.”